Getting in Touch with My Creative Side

Getting in Touch with My Creative Side

You can’t use up creativity.
The more you use, the more you have.
Maya Angelou

In addition to working on SpeakArtLoud I have a day job, which means I spend a lot of my time at a computer, busy planning, organizing, researching, writing, scheduling and problem solving.  I have been feeling very plugged in, yet completely disconnected from myself.

I decided that I want to be more in touch with my creative side. And, given that SpeakArtLoud is all about the importance of art in individual and community well-being, I though it only right that I should stay in touch with my own creative side.

The Experiment – Unplug and Create

So, this past week I made an effort to try and experience art and creativity as often as possible. I took a technology break, with only a few minor lapses, and stayed away from my personal email, facebook, twitter and tv for a week.

Here are a few things I did this week to connect with art and creativity:

Here is how I felt at the start of the week:

  • I felt as if I should be doing something
  • I felt anxious
  • I felt like I was missing something
  • I felt guilty for not working
  • I was uncomfortable
  • I did not know what to do with my time
  • I felt unsure and did not know how to get started making art
  • I was worried about getting it right

And by the end of the week:

  • I felt more relaxed
  • I felt happier
  • I laughed a lot more
  • I realized I really liked spending time alone painting
  • I felt like I had accomplished things
  • My environment felt more colorful and energizing
  • I had fun

Facing My Fear

As a non-artist I understand that trying to be creative or to do something artistic can be intimidating. There is a bit of worry that you won’t do it right, it won’t look good or that you won’t even know what to do.  I understand that.  I’ve felt that.  In fact that was my biggest barrier to getting started.

I can’t understand why people are frightened of new ideas.
I’m frightened of the old ones.
John Cage

Important to be creative

I firmly believe that the creative process is important to health and well-being.  We know that creativity can keep you healthy.   As a non-artist what I create is less important than the actual creative process.  The time I spend thinking, relaxing, letting go and making art is what really matters.  Process is important, relax and let go!

A Few Ideas

If you are feeling stuck or uncomfortable or even fearful about making art here are some sites to visit that might inspire ideas.  Remember, enjoy the creative process!

4 thoughts on “Getting in Touch with My Creative Side

  1. Thanks Sally! Your post really struck a chord with me. I struggle with the same issues: finding time; fighting the feeling that I should be doing something more productive; feeling anxious, inhibited, & intimidated; how to get started; and exactly how I should express myself; oh – and is it good enough?

    I will look at the links you suggested, and my goal this week is to spend some time writing and creating a vision board. Have you ever read “The Artist’s Way”? I haven’t, but I would be interested in forming a book group to work through it. Interested?

  2. Hi Wendy,

    Thanks for your comment! I think too often we focus on being productive, on the product, and forget how important the creative process is. Enjoy spending some time writing and working on a vision board this week, I bet at the end you’ll feel more relaxed and centered.

    I haven’t read “The Artist’s Way”, but its been a book I have wanted to work my way through for some time. Maybe a book group would be a good way to explore this. Great idea!

    Thanks, Sally

Leave a Reply

